Quick Read
- Duolingo accepted universities in USA, include all eight Ivy League schools.
- Minimum Duolingo scores for USA universities range from 100 to 125 or higher.
- DET costs โน6,580 ($70) in India, about one third of IELTS fees.
- A 2025 update means Duolingo 120 now equals IELTS 6.5, not 7.0.
How Many Universities Accept Duolingo in USA (2027)
Duolingo does not publish a country-wise breakdown of its accepting institutions, so treat any precise “X universities in the USA” figure you see online with caution, including on older guides. What Duolingo does confirm is over 6,000 accepting programs worldwide, and the USA has the highest concentration of DET accepting institutions in any country. All eight Ivy League universities accept the Duolingo English Test for undergraduate admissions, and roughly 95% of U.S. News Top 100 universities now accept it too, per Times Higher Education’s reporting on DET acceptance.
That said, not every program at every university treats DET the same way. Duolingo accepting universities in USA often set different minimum scores by department, and a handful of schools, such as UCLA and the University of Richmond, accept DET only as a supplement to another test rather than as a standalone score. So when you search for duolingo accepted universities in usa, check your specific program’s admissions page, not just the university’s general policy.
Choose your dream country
When do you want to study abroad?
What's your highest level of education?
Have you completed Class 12th?
What was your Class 12 CGPA/percentage?
Are you a student or a parent/guardian?
What do you want to study?
Select your current city
How Leap will help you
Personalised University Shortlist
Express Applications with Quicker Admits
End-to-End Application Support
If the USA is not your only target, see our list of Duolingo accepted countries worldwide to compare acceptance across destinations before you commit to one test.
Duolingo Accepted Universities in USA for Masters Programs (2027)
Here are leading U.S. universities on the list of duolingo accepted universities in usa for masters admissions:
| University | Minimum Duolingo Score | Program-Specific Notes |
| Northeastern University | 105 | Accepted for most master's programs |
| Carnegie Mellon University | 105โ120 | Varies by department (120 for Engineering) |
| University of Washington | 105 (min), 125+ (recommended) | 125+ preferred for competitive programs |
| Purdue University | 110 | Standard graduate admissions minimum |
| Lehigh University | 110 | MBA requires 125 |
| Rice University | 115 | Some programs set higher cut-offs |
| University of California, Santa Barbara | 115 | Minimum for graduate programs |
| Wichita State University | 115 | MBA requires 125 |
| University of Notre Dame | 120 | Accepted for graduate programs |
| University of Rochester | 120 | Accepted for all graduate programs |
| Harvard University | 120 | Accepted for select schools (e.g. Harvard Medical) |
| Yale University | 120 | Competitive applicants score 120+ |
| University of Wisconsin-Madison | 120 | Accepted for graduate programs |
| University of Maryland | 120 | 115-119 may require an English Bridge Program |
| The Ohio State University | 120 | Minimum for most master's programs |
| New York University | 125 | 125+ for Tandon School of Engineering |
| Princeton University | 125 | Accepted for Ph.D. and MSE in CS |
| Vanderbilt University | 130 | Accepted for Guarini School graduate programs |
| Dartmouth College | 135 | For Guarini graduate school applicants |
Counselor insight: for top STEM or MBA programs, aim for a Duolingo score of 120 or higher to stay competitive, since many departments weigh the Production (speaking and writing) subscore separately. Engineering departments in particular often set a higher Production subscore threshold than the overall minimum, and MBA programs frequently use a separate Speaking subscore cut-off to decide whether an interview waiver applies, so check your program's subscore policy and not just its headline score.
Duolingo Accepted Universities in USA for Undergraduate Programs (2027)
Several top universities in the USA accepting Duolingo for undergraduate admissions set minimums between 105 and 135, depending on selectivity:
| University | Minimum Duolingo Score | Program-Specific Notes |
| Northwestern University | 105 | Accepted for undergraduate admissions |
| University of California, Berkeley | 115 | Minimum requirement |
| Rice University | 115 | Minimum required |
| Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) | 120 | 125 recommended for UG programs |
| Yale University | 120 | 120+ preferred |
| Caltech | 120 | Accepted |
| Johns Hopkins University | 120 | Preferred sub-scores: Literacy 125, Conversation 120 |
| Stanford University | Not specified | Accepted, check program page |
| The University of Chicago | Not specified | Accepted, no stated minimum |
| University of Pennsylvania | 130 | Must send score directly |
| Duke University | 130 | Recommended score |
| Brown University | 130 | Expected for most applicants |
| Cornell University | 130 | For admissions consideration |
| University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) | 130 | Accepted alongside another test |
| Columbia University | 135 | Required for admission |
Note: for 2027 intakes, most Ivy League and University of California schools prefer scores of 120 or higher, especially for business and engineering programs.
Individual minimums listed throughout this guide reflect each university's published international-admissions page at the time of research. Requirements are revised yearly and sometimes mid-cycle, so confirm the current figure on the university's own admissions page before applying rather than relying on this table alone.
Universities in USA Accepting Duolingo by Score Range
If your score sits below the tables above, you still have solid options. Here is how universities in the USA accept Duolingo scores, broken down by range:
- Duolingo 90 score accepted universities in usa: Temple University (90-95, CAP eligible) and Indiana University Indianapolis (90) consider applicants in this band, mostly for foundation or bridge pathways.
- Duolingo 100 score accepted universities in usa: University of New Orleans, University of Texas of the Permian Basin, and Stephen F. Austin State University accept 100 as a standalone minimum.
- Duolingo 105 to 110 score accepted universities in usa: Northwestern, Northeastern, University of Washington, and Purdue fall in this range for undergraduate or master's admissions (see tables above).
- Duolingo 115 score accepted universities in usa: UC Berkeley, Rice, and UC Santa Barbara set 115 as their standard minimum.
- Duolingo 120 score accepted universities in usa: MIT, Yale, Caltech, Johns Hopkins, Notre Dame, and several Ivy League graduate schools cluster here.
- Duolingo 130 score accepted universities in usa: UPenn, Duke, Brown, Cornell, UCLA, and Vanderbilt's graduate school expect this range or higher.
| University | Minimum DET Score (2027) |
| Temple University | 90โ95 (CAP eligible) |
| Indiana University, Indianapolis | 90 |
| University of New Orleans | 100 |
| University of Texas of the Permian Basin | 100 |
| Stephen F. Austin State University | 100 |
Tip: a 90-100 Duolingo score still works at several accredited universities if you strengthen your SOP, LORs, and GPA.
Duolingo Accepted Universities in USA for PhD Programs
The list of duolingo accepted universities in usa for PhD overlaps heavily with the master's list above, since most US graduate schools apply the same English proficiency policy across PhD and master's applicants within a department. Princeton accepts DET for its Ph.D. and MSE in Computer Science, Harvard accepts it for select PhD programs including Harvard Medical, and Ohio State and University of Wisconsin-Madison apply their standard 120 graduate minimum to doctoral applicants too. Always confirm with your specific PhD program, since funded doctoral admissions sometimes carry stricter English requirements than taught master's programs at the same university.
GRE and Duolingo Accepted Universities in USA
A growing number of STEM graduate programs have dropped the GRE requirement, but that does not mean English proficiency testing goes away too. Universities in USA without GRE, such as several on our GRE accepted universities in USA list, still expect a Duolingo, IELTS, or TOEFL score from international applicants. If you are weighing GRE and Duolingo accepted universities in usa together, treat them as separate requirements: GRE policy affects your academic profile, while DET satisfies the English proficiency requirement that almost every graduate school enforces regardless of GRE policy.
If you would rather skip IELTS altogether and rely only on DET, see our guide to studying in the USA without IELTS.
Duolingo Score to IELTS Conversion: What Changed in 2025
Duolingo revised its official score comparison chart in early 2025, and the change matters if you are comparing cut-offs across universities. Under the updated chart, a Duolingo score of 120 now converts to approximately IELTS 6.5, not IELTS 7.0 as older guides still state. A Duolingo 130 converts to roughly IELTS 7.0, and Duolingo 100 converts to approximately IELTS 5.5.
Source: Duolingo's official score comparison page, last revised 2025.
If a university's website still lists an old equivalency, such as "DET 120 or IELTS 7.0," that is likely an outdated page. Email the admissions office with a link to Duolingo's current score comparison page and ask which standard they are applying to your application. For a full breakdown by score band, see our Duolingo Score to IELTS Conversion guide.
If you are still weighing which English test fits your applications best, our IELTS vs TOEFL vs PTE vs Duolingo comparison breaks down cost, format, and turnaround side by side.
Is Duolingo Accepted in USA for Study Visa (F-1)?
University admission and visa approval are separate decisions, and mixing them up is a common and costly mistake. US immigration rules do not mandate a specific English proficiency test for F-1 applicants, so the admitting university's I-20 is what matters, not a standalone test certificate. Your university issues the I-20 based on its admission criteria, so if that university accepted your Duolingo score, your application is already covered for visa purposes. At the interview itself, the consular officer at the US embassy or consulate assesses your spoken English directly rather than asking for a test certificate.
In short, Duolingo accepted universities in usa also work for F-1 visa purposes, as long as the university that admitted you recognized your DET score. For a step-by-step walkthrough of the next stage, see our F-1 visa application guide and F-1 visa interview questions.
Duolingo English Test Fees and Registration for Indian Students
The standard DET fee is โน6,580 (USD 70 at โน94 per USD). A two-test bundle costs โน11,092 (USD 118), which works out to about โน5,546 per attempt. A faster 12-hour results option adds roughly โน3,760 to the base fee. Exchange rates shift daily, so verify the current rate before finalizing your budget.
Source: Duolingo English Test official pricing page.
To register, visit englishtest.duolingo.com, create a free account, choose a single test or the two-test bundle, and pay by Visa, Mastercard, or American Express. UPI and net banking are not supported. You can take the test once every 30 days, and scores stay valid for two years. If cost is a concern, check whether you qualify for Duolingo's own fee waiver program before paying full price, and review the DET rules and regulations before booking your slot.
Tips to Score High on the Duolingo English Test
- Take a full practice test first to learn the 19 question types and identify your weakest subscore (per Duolingo's official test format page).
- Practise Interactive Speaking daily. Duolingo's July 2025 format update (confirmed on its official test-format page) removed Read Aloud and added six conversational prompts with no prep time.
- Type on a laptop keyboard during every mock test. Many Indian test-takers lose time because they typically type on a phone.
- Review your Production subscore (speaking plus writing) separately. It is consistently the weakest area for Indian applicants, even when the overall score looks strong.
- Restart your laptop and close every background application before the real test. Most "not certified" results trace back to a background app or a slipped phone camera.
3 Takeaways on Duolingo Accepted Universities in USA
- Confirm your target program's minimum Duolingo score directly on its admissions page, since requirements vary by department even within the same university.
- Use the updated 2025 conversion chart, not older guides, when comparing your Duolingo score against IELTS or TOEFL benchmarks.
- Treat university admission and F-1 visa approval as separate steps. Your accepted Duolingo score and I-20 already cover the visa side.
LeapScholar can help you shortlist duolingo accepted universities in USA that match your score, prepare your SOP and financial documents, and guide you through your visa interview with expert 1:1 counseling. Book a free session with a LeapScholar counselor to start your application.
Frequently Asked Questions About Duolingo Accepted Universities in USA
-
Is Duolingo still accepted in the USA?
Duolingo is still widely accepted in the USA, including by all eight Ivy League universities for undergraduate admissions. The US holds the largest concentration of DET accepting institutions among Duolingo's 6,000+ accepting programs worldwide.
-
What is the minimum Duolingo score for the USA?
Minimum Duolingo scores for US universities generally fall between 90 and 115 at most undergraduate and master's programs, rising to 120 to 135 at the most selective Ivy League and research universities. The exact cut-off depends on the program, not just the university.
-
How many universities accept Duolingo in USA?
Duolingo does not publish a country-wise university count, but it confirms 6,000+ accepting programs worldwide, with the US holding the largest share. Nearly every US university with meaningful international enrollment now lists DET as an accepted test.
-
Does MIT USA accept Duolingo English Test?
MIT accepts Duolingo for both undergraduate and graduate admissions. Undergraduate applicants need a minimum of 120 (125 recommended), while each department sets its own graduate score requirements separately.
-
Which universities accept Duolingo for a master's in the USA?
Universities including Northeastern, Carnegie Mellon, Purdue, and NYU accept Duolingo for master's admissions, with minimums ranging from 105 to 125. Each department sets its own cut-off, so confirm on your specific program page.
-
How long are Duolingo scores valid?
Duolingo English Test scores stay valid for two years from the test date, matching IELTS and TOEFL validity. Some universities also set their own policy on how recent a submitted score needs to be.
-
How much does DET cost in India?
The standard Duolingo test fee is โน6,580 (USD 70 at โน94 per USD), with a two-test bundle priced at โน11,092 (USD 118), or about โน5,546 per test. A faster 12-hour results option costs roughly โน3,760 extra.
-
Is Duolingo accepted in USA for study visa?
The US F-1 visa process does not require a specific English test, since US immigration rules leave that decision to the admitting university's own I-20. If your university accepted your Duolingo score and issued an I-20, that is sufficient for your visa application.



Have Questions? Get Guidance to reach your Dream University
Connect with India's finest counsellors and biggest study abroad community.
Get Guidance